Cheese Snow Cake

1 Oct

I remember the very first time I had the Cheese Snow Cake and I fell in love. Really! Sumpah… I tak bedek, youuuu…

I was confident that it was a vanilla sponge cake sandwiched with a chocolate sponge cake. And then, there was chocolate ganache and chocolate rice in between the cakes. Finally, there was the cream cheese topping with grated cheddar cheese. And that, ladies and gentlemen, was pure foodgasm 😉

Just take a look at the picture below.

IMG_6471 I had bought this from Reen when she had extra pieces and this was flown in from Brunei. Yes, you heard me right! B-R-U-N-E-I worrr… in fact, this reminds me of a similar dessert which I had in Manila years ago. My Filipino friends, am I right?

Ok, I digress.

My mom actually passed me a link to the recipe and I was darn sure that this could possibly be the same one. Decided to whip this up over the weekend and the verdict was OK! GOOD TO GO 🙂

IMG_0544

Ingredients

  • 6 eggs (discard 2 whites, so it should be 6 egg yolks + 4 egg whites)
  • 100 grams fine sugar
  • 100 grams Hong Kong flour
  • 60 grams cornflour (cornstarch)
  • 50 grams cold water
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons Ovalette
  • 75 grams butter (melted)

Cream Cheese Topping (Beat the first two ingredients until smooth and creamy with no lumps. Chill in refrigerator for awhile.)

  • 1 box Philadephia Cream Cheese
  • 1 cup condensed milk
  • 1/2 box Kraft cheddar cheese (finely grated)

Directions

Preheat oven to 150 degrees Celsius.

Mix all of the ingredients except for the melted butter. Beat over medium speed until the batter is smooth and creamy. Then, add the melted butter. Beat until well incorporated.

Pour batter into a lined and greased cake pan. Note: I actually used two cake pans as I did not want to slice the cake into half.

Bake for 45 minutes – 1 hour. Allow the cake to cool on a wired rack. Slice the cake into half.

Spread the cream cheese topping on one surface of the cake. Place the other half on top. Now, spread the cream all over the cake. Garnish with grated cheddar cheese.

IMG_0547Chill the cake for another 1 – 2 hours. Slice and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

