Molten Chocolate Babycakes

9 Nov

I bet some of you readers love the Domino’s Chocolate Lava Cake. I sure did when I first ate it and would always order one each time we had Domino’s for dinner. Sometimes I do crave for something warm and chocolatey when the mood arises. But I can’t call Domino’s just for their Chocolate Lava Cake, right? Hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

And to my delightful surprise, I remembered I had downloaded Nigella Quick Collection application on my iPhone. I recalled seeing something similar and guess what? Lo and behold, there was indeed her recipe for these scrumptious Molten Chocolate Babycakes. Since I had all of the ingredients in my fridge/freezer, I decided to whip these up on one of the weeknights.

Ingredients

  • 50 grams salted butter (plus more for greasing)
  • 350 grams dark chocolate
  • 150 grams caster sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 50 grams plain flour

Directions

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius. Lay three of the moulds on a sheet of doubled baking parchment. Draw around them and cut out the discs as marked. Press them all into the base of the tins.

Melt the chocolate and let it cool slightly. Cream together the butter and sugar. Gradually beat in the eggs and vanilla essence. Now add the flour and when all is smoothly combined, scrape in the cooled chocolate, blending it to a smooth batter.

Divide the batter between six moulds (or more) and place in the oven.

Cook for 10 – 12 minutes and as soon as you take them out of the oven, tip out these luscious babycakes onto small plates or shallow bowls.

Serve these with whipped double cream, creme fraiche, creme anglaise, ice cream or strawberries.ย  We had ours with powdered sugar… Yummy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

