Kacang Pool

24 Feb

I used to mistake Sabsuka for Kacang Pool… hahaha πŸ˜€ That just shows how much I know my own traditional Malay dishes! Very bad, righttt?

Anyway, I didn’t want to give up on finding a reliable recipe. Lo and behold, I managed to get my hands on a relatively easy recipe and I got my parents to be the food tasters before I served it for lunch. Hehe πŸ™‚

As requested by a fellow Twitter mummy-to-be, I hope you’ll like my rendition as much as I had fun cooking it.

Ingredients

  • 1 can kidney beans (don’t discard the liquid)
  • 150 gm minced beef
  • 1 big onion*
  • 3 garlic cloves*
  • 1/2 inch ginger*
  • 1 tablespoon chilli paste
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1/4 cup tamarind juice
  • Salt, to taste
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 2 green chillies, diced
  • 2 – 3 limes, sliced into half
  • Eggs

*Blend these three ingredients with one cup of water

Directions

Blend the kidney beans with the liquid and a cup of water. Set that aside.

Heat up some oil and stir fry the blended ingredients until fragrant. Add the chili paste and stir fry it until fragrant. Add in the curry powder and stir for a minute. Add the minced beef and stir until it is cooked. Add the tamarind juice, blended kidney beans and salt to taste.

Mix everything well and let it cook for another 5 minutes.

Serve with toasted French loaf slices and top it off with a fried egg, onion, tomato, green chillies and half a lime.

4 Responses to “Kacang Pool”

  1. Kiara June 25, 2012 at 11:53 PM #

    Thank you thank you thank you fer this recipe!! Ive been waiting to prepare this on my own.. I will try this!!!:)

    • cadymcbronzie June 26, 2012 at 8:20 AM #

      Hi Kiara,

      You’re most welcome and good luck with cooking this dish πŸ™‚

  2. js_norlidah69@yahoo.com.sg March 10, 2013 at 9:42 PM #

    Dear Cady,

    Tried this & it was awesome!! God bless for such gr8 generosity of heart in sharing:):)

    • cadymcbronzie March 10, 2013 at 9:45 PM #

      Hello there Norlidah,

      Alhamdullillah. Great to hear that and glad that you like it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

