Honey BBQ Baked Chicken Pita

2 Aug

Hello darlings!

Ramadhan Mubarak!

May the holy month of the revelation of Qur’an usher upon you peace, happiness and prosperity. Ameen.

I know it sure has been a very long time since I last updated my food blog. Truth be told, I have been busy taking orders for Dessert By Quintessa and the lack of a proper kitchen for me to be mulling over my cookbooks.

Now that the new and modern kitchen is finally ready (photos to be shared soon!), I can finally make myself busy in the kitchen on my mother’s off day. I’ve been pondering for weeks on the best dishes to be served for our pre-dawn meals during this fasting month.

I actually stocked up on quite a number of canned foods which I can easily mix with fresh ingredients to prepare a nice meal for the family. So, first up — Honey BBQ Baked Chicken Pita (or Wrap). You can either bake a whole chicken or buy those cooked ones ($5.95 per chicken) at NTUC or Giant.

Ingredients

  • One whole Honey BBQ Baked Chicken
  • 1 1/2 Baby head lettuce, cut into chunky pieces
  • Kraft Miracle Whip (enough to coat the lettuce)
  • 5 loaves pita bread, halved
  • 2 yellow onions, sliced thinly
  • 16 – 20 baby tomatoes, halved
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Ground black pepper, to taste

Directions

In a medium bowl, coat the lettuce with the desired amount of Kraft Miracle Whip. Pour the olive oil in a frying pan and saute the onions with ground black pepper. Stir occasionally for about 5 minutes.

In another bowl, shred the chicken into thin slices and set aside.

Honey BBQ Baked Chicken Wrap

Heat the pita loaves (or wraps) in an oven at 180 degrees Celsius for about 4 minutes. I used the Mission Wrap and Quix Pita which are readily available at NTUC.

Stuff the pita with the lettuce, followed by the onions, chicken pieces and tomatoes. Feel free to add mayonnaise and chilli sauce before digging in.

Enjoy folks 😉

2 Responses to “Honey BBQ Baked Chicken Pita”

  1. fiza s February 28, 2012 at 5:20 PM #

    hi cady, thank u for all ur recipes! u rlly help motivate me to learn how to cook & i hv tried many of ur recipes successfully (excpt for the cheese fries) 😛

    anyway i hv a suggestion. i super love korean bbq resto & i even love their hot hot drums more. my guess is since u love anything n everythg korean, u wld hv tried it before?

    I wld be so grateful if u tried to concoct the recipe for the hot hot drum! there’s somethg magical abt the sauce & the fried chicken is just nice & crispy. will u try it?

    patiently waiting! xoxo

    • cadymcbronzie February 29, 2012 at 5:29 PM #

      Hi there Fiza,

      Ahhh… great to know that you have tried the recipes successfully! Don’t worry about the Cheese Fries, it took me awhile to get it right too 😉

      There are only a few Korean dishes that I have tried and making them myself. Have not tried the hot hot drums though but they do sound delish! BTW, are you referring to the Korean-flavored Chicken Wings (otherwise known as Bul-dak)?

      I do have a recipe stashed somewhere and yes, I will definitely share it with you once I have successfully recreate the halal version of it. Stay tuned then 🙂

Leave a Reply

