Popeye’s Biscuits

12 Mar

Since I still had some leftover buttermilk, I decided to bake Popeye’s Biscuits as I love to eat ’em warm with a lil bit of butter and jam.

Truth be told, this is by far one of the most challenging thing I ever baked. The dough was still fairly wet and I panicked! I wasn’t too sure if the biscuits would turn out ok. Whether this recipe is a success, beats me (really!). I am still very determined to find out what goes into the real recipe of these Popeye’s Biscuits.

For now, this would suffice and you have absolutely no idea how filling these biscuits are ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients

  • 5 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt (more to taste)
  • 2 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 1 cup butter (est. 230 gm)
  • 2 tablespoons for optional topping

Directions

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

To get the biscuits started, simply combine the first four ingredients in your mixer and turn on a low speed until just combined. The important element of these biscuits is that the butter must remain in cold pea-size pieces up until the time that it enters the oven. Having the butter cold allows it to sizzle in the heat of the oven, giving the texture that we desire.

Add the buttermilk and baking powder until combined. Lastly, add the butter and mix until the butter is well-dispersed.

Lightly dust your counter and toss the dough on top. Flatten and fold half of the dough on top of itself. Rotate 90 degrees and repeat about 4 – 5 times. Using a biscuit cutter, press down on the dough and pull the excess dough away.

** This is where I digress and would like to state that my dough was still fairly wet. There was no way that I could roll out the dough without overworking it. As an alternative method, I took my 1/4 cup and scooped the dough and dropped it unto my tray. TA-DA ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let the biscuits rest for about 5 minutes. Lightly top with melted butter and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown on top.

Serve the Popeye’s Biscuits with whipped cream, blueberry jam, honey and butter.

Leave a Reply

