Kimchi Jigae (Kimchi Soup)

9 Jan

During the cold rainy season, I always yearn for hot soupy dishes. And of course, I happened to be watching the current Korean drama entitled Marry Me, Mary and this was where I got the inspiration to cook kimchi soup for dinner. My mom has cooked this once based on the numerous times we ate this at the Korean outlet, Lot One’s Food Culture. I’m quite pleased at the outcome as we finished 3/4 of the big pot in just one seating.

The only ingredients that I needed to hunt down are kimchi and gochujang (Korean chilli paste). Since I was unable to find gochujang, I substituted it with kimchi base and the soup turned out just as fine. You can purchase Gana Kimchi Base from any of the NTUC outlets. Mom’s advice to me is NEVER to follow any recipe too strictly and I was glad that I didn’t this time around. My own intuition proved me right 😉

Ingredients

  • 100 – 150 gm chicken thigh meat, sliced thinly
  • 1 small onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 1/2 cup loosely packed kimchi
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 litre warm water + 6 tablespoons Woh Hup concentrated Kimchi stock
  • 2 cm ginger, sliced thinly
  • 2 tablespoons Kimchi base
  • 2 teaspoons light soya sauce
  • 1 packet silken tofu, sliced into cubes
  • 1/2 packet enoki mushroom
  • 5 crabmeat sticks, cut into three
  • 1 small packet rice vermicelli
  • 4 spring onions, sliced thinly

Directions

Heat a small laquered cast iron pot (or any normal pot) until hot, then add three tablespoons of oil, chicken thigh meat and onion. Then add the kimchi and garlic. Saute until the mixture is very fragrant, then add the kimchi stock, ginger, Kimchi base and light soya sauce, stirring everything together to combine.

Bring to a boil and taste for spiciness. Feel free to add as much kimchi base to taste until it’s pleasantly tingly. Add the tofu, enoki mushroom and crabmeat sticks, turn down the heat to a simmer and let it cook for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the chicken thigh meat and kimchi are tender.

When you’re ready to serve, add the vermicelli and green onions and give it a quick stir to incorporate. Serve it straight out of the pot along with a bowl of rice.

What more can I possibly say… a big pot of kimchi jigae for dinner, no better way to warm up on a cold day!

3 Responses to “Kimchi Jigae (Kimchi Soup)”

  1. SiteTrail November 27, 2012 at 4:47 AM #

    Hello there I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Aol for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a
    lot for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dak Bulgogi (Korean BBQ Chicken) « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - January 9, 2011

    […] Jan Who can resist having a bowl of hot steaming rice with Kimchi Jigae and Dak Bulgogi (Korean BBQ Chicken) along with some baby lettuce head leaves for wrapping? Nobody […]

  2. Beef Bulgogi « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - January 17, 2012

    […] made my own Kimchi (will share a modified version real soon *PROMISE*), Beef Bulgogi, Kimchi Jigae (Kimchi Soup) and Chargrilled Garlic & Pepper Prawns. My mom actually bought Dak Bulgogi (Korean BBQ Chicken) […]

Leave a Reply

