Quick Calamari with Garlic Mayonnaise

24 Nov

Over the weekend, my favourite tweethearts came over to my place for lunch and the usual chit-chat session. And of course, I wanted to cook something easy but yet delicious for Yati, Lynn and Nat. True enough, I had problems coming up with the menu (kalahkan bakal mak mertua nak datang makan gitu!). The menu had to have starters, salad, main course and dessert. Dessert was a no brainer because I know what they love 🙂

I then proceed to search for some recipes in Nigella Express and boy, was I glad that I managed to come up with a menu two days before our lunch appointment. So before I post the recipe for the starters, let me share with you the handwritten message in the recipe book.

“To Our Dearest Liza,

Happy 30th birthday! May you always be filled with love, happiness, wealth & of course good food! Hope you will enjoy this book and cook us a FEAST one day! 🙂

Muchos Love,

Lynn Maharet + Saudari Lee + N@tyler”

How apt aye… and true enough, I did cook something for my ladies. So here it is, Nigella Lawson’s Quick Calamari with Garlic Mayonnaise.

Ingredients

  • 500 gm squid and tentacles
  • 2 tablespoons cornflour
  • 4 tablespoons semolina
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika

For the Garlic Mayonnaise

  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

Directions

Heat oil in a smal saucepan or you can use a deep-fryer instead. While it’s left to warm up, cut the squid into 1cm rings. Put the cornflour, semolina and seasoning into a bowl (or a Ziploc® bag). Add the squid rings and tentacles and then toss to coat. When the oil is hot enough, fry the squid in batches to get the most golden crunchiness for a couple of minutes. Grate or crush the garlic into the mayonnaise, stir to mix, and then serve alongside the fried squid.

Leave a Reply

