Classic Lemon Cheesecake

10 Nov

I was mulling over some cheesecake recipes a couple of weeks ago. Reason being, I was concerned about making a no-bake cheesecake. Ingredients being raw and all, whether the bottom crust will harden and don’t get me started on getting the perfect tin for the cheesecake. I finally got the perfect one; made in Germany and bought from Takashimaya. Good enough to get me started.

And then, it was the search for The One cheesecake recipe that I really hoped will not fail me on my maiden attempt. And silly old me, had forgotten about the Philadelphia Cream Cheese cover that I had kept from my other cheesy episode, Shrimp and Mushroom Spaghetti with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce. In it, there were two recipes that I was very sure would be perfect to a tee.

I only tweaked this recipe by baking the bottom crust for a few minutes and VOILA! It actually hardened and didn’t crumbled when I sliced the cake earlier on. Without further ado, let me introduce you to Classic Lemon Cheesecake… Mmm, it’s sinfully delicious 😉

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sweet biscuit crumbs
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 2 x 250 gm Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese, softened at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons gelatin dissolved in 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 1 x 400 gm can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons grated lemon rind

Directions

Mix biscuit crumbs with melted butter and press into base of a 20cm springform pan. Bake in an oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 5 minutes. Chill. Beat the cream cheese with an electric beater until smooth, mix in gelatin mixture, condensed milk, lemon juice and rind. Pour onto crumb base and chill in refrigerator (2-3 hours or overnight). Top with a selection of fresh fruits and serve.

And now, I’m all psyched up to try other varieties of cheesecakes – Oreo, blueberry and marble 🙂

Leave a Reply

