Shrimp and Mushroom Spaghetti with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce

22 Oct

Whenever I’m bored at home, I always want to try out new recipes. But sometimes, it’s simply a craving unfulfilled and no one has yet to entertain me (heh!). Just last weekend, it was one of those days. As I laid in bed on a Sunday morning, it occurred to me that I really wanted to cook creamy pasta again. The last time I cooked it was eons ago and I can’t remember the recipe at all.

And so, I did some quick research and Voila! I found the perfect recipe and merely had to tweak it a little bit for a spicier version. This is really very creamy indeed and best eaten hot from the stove. Hope you’ll love this as much as I did 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 package spaghetti (or linguini)
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1 – 2 package fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 5 – 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 x 250g Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese, softened at room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons dried basil
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 1 can of Nestle Cream – Pure Dairy Sterilised Cream (170g)
  • 20 (or more) cooked shrimp

Directions

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add spaghetti (or linguini), and cook until tender, about 7 minutes. Drain.

Meanwhile, heat 4 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add a couple of teaspoons of minced garlic, mushrooms and shrimps; cook and stir until tender. Transfer to a plate.

In the same pan, melt 1/2 cup butter with the remaining minced garlic. Stir in the cream cheese, breaking it up with a spoon as it melts. Stir in the Nestle Cream, parsley and basil. Simmer for 5 minutes. Mix in boiling water until sauce is smooth. Stir in cooked shrimp and mushrooms, and heat through. Add a dash of salt and paprika (or ground black pepper too!).

Toss spaghetti (or linguini) with the creamy cheese herb sauce, and serve.

2 Responses to “Shrimp and Mushroom Spaghetti with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Classic Lemon Cheesecake « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - November 10, 2010

    […] forgotten about the Philadelphia Cream Cheese cover that I had kept from my other cheesy episode, Shrimp and Mushroom Spaghetti with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce. In it, there were two recipes that I was very sure would be perfect to a […]

  2. Creamy Pasta « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - December 29, 2010

    […] She’s the sort who loves the alfredo sauce with tonnes of cheese. The last time I cooked the Shrimp and Mushroom Spaghetti with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce, it didn’t suit her palate after all. Then lo and behold, I remembered that I actually had […]

Leave a Reply

