Roti Jala

27 Aug

Oh how I love thee especially with Chicken Curry!

But I am so not that gleeful when I am making thee. And I shall complain no more especially when you are so sedap nak mampos! My grandmother used to make these a lot when she was much healthier. I really do enjoy eating these lace pancakes with Chicken Curry and Egg & Tomato Salad topped with chilli & tomato sauce. A simple dish but truly something that most Malays can identify with. What more, this is the most sought after dish during Ramadhan.

Let me present the easy peasy method of doing this sinful pancake 😉

Ingredients

  • 1 cup multi-purpose flour, sifted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon yellow coloring

Directions

Place flour, eggs, coconut milk and water in a blender and make sure it is well blended. Pour the melted butter, salt and coloring. Continue to blend the mixture.

Pour through a sieve and let the batter rest for at least 1/2 hour. Heat a flat pan, grease lightly with a knotted pandan leaf.

Roti Jala

Using the mould, make a lace pattern on the pan. Leave for few minutes till done. Continue till all the batter is used up.

Place two lace pancakes on top of each other and fold into three to form a triangle.

And now, you’re ready to serve your guests this wonderful dish along with Chicken Curry and Egg & Tomato Salad. Two batches of this is sufficient to feed 4 – 5 people. Enjoy folks 🙂

4 Responses to “Roti Jala”

  1. dimpledcheeks August 29, 2010 at 12:06 AM #

    I think your blog is excellent! Tak payah nak google for recipes! Thank you!

    • cadymcbronzie August 29, 2010 at 5:14 AM #

      Hi there,

      Thanks for dropping by. I will definitely try my best to share tried and tested recipes here 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Curry « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - August 27, 2010

    […] fact, I cooked this dish along with Roti Jala for my mother’s birthday this year. I was relieved that it turned out quite creamy/spicy and […]

  2. Egg & Tomato Salad « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - August 14, 2011

    […] is a very simple salad accompaniment to Roti Jala and Chicken Curry. And mom is the one who taught me how to make the very simple Chilli & Tomato […]

Leave a Reply

