Seafood Aglio Olio

15 Aug

Hi, I’m back 🙂

I am finally done with the BIG Three-O celebration and now, back into domestic goddess mode. Yesterday was in fact, the first time I cooked during the holy month of Ramadhan. I normally prepare simple sandwiches for the family during sahur (morning meal before fasting). I don’t exactly know what hit me as I wanted to prepare a spread for the family during iftar (evening meal).

But honestly speaking, I just wanted my mom to rest during the weekend as she normally cooks for us during the weekdays.

And thanks to my Twitter friends, I was inspired to whip up Aglio Olio (a first for me!) accompanied by Orange Chicken Salad (this recipe is coming right up) and chicken wings with spare ribs sauce. Once again, I modified the recipes that were provided by Saudari Lee. And here’s a lil surprise, I added Moonblush Tomatoes courtesy of Nigella Lawson… yummy 😉

Without further a do, here’s the Seafood Aglio Olio to tantalise your taste buds.

Ingredients

  • 1 packet spaghetti
  • 2/3 cup extra virgin oil
  • 10 – 12 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 15 red chilli padi, finely chopped (or more depending on your spicy tolerance level)
  • 1 big yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 20 medium grey prawns, deshelled and leave the tail intact
  • 10 crab sticks, sliced in half
  • 15 cherry tomatoes
  • 2 Knorr or Maggi chicken stock cubes
  • Mixed herbs
  • Fresh parsley
  • Salt to taste

Directions

Preheat the oven to 220 degrees Celsius. Cut the tomatoes in half and sit them cut side up in an ovenproof dish. Place the prawns and crab sticks in the dish as well (for a chargrilled effect). Sprinkle with salt, mixed herbs and olive oil. Remove from the oven after ten minutes.

Cook spaghetti according to package instructions, then drain and cool. In a large bowl, mix spaghetti with one tablespoon of the olive oil. Set aside.

In a pan, heat a tablespoon of the olive oil and put in the onions. Add mixed herbs as desired and constantly stir the onions around the pan so they don’t stick. Set aside after 10 to 15 minutes.

Heat remaining oil in a large skillet. Add garlic, chilli padi, sauteed onion and chicken stock cubes. Cook, stirring often, for about one minute or until fragrant. Add prawns and crab sticks and cook for one to two minutes more. Add spaghetti and toss until heated through, then add oil if desired. Once heated through, remove skillet from the heat and add the tomatoes. Toss again, then serve immediately, garnished with freshly chopped parsley.

I hope you will enjoy this dish as much as I did 😉

4 Responses to “Seafood Aglio Olio”

  1. lynnmaharet August 31, 2010 at 3:40 AM #

    This has become one of my comfort foods! Besides kpnm! Love it!

    I used lots of mixed herbs and olive oil and the cherry tomatoes is a nice addition.

    • cadymcbronzie August 31, 2010 at 6:31 AM #

      Hey babe!

      Glad you liked it. You can modify this recipe by using crayfish or tiger prawns. It’d be great too.

      Next, we gotta try the creamy pasta 😉

  2. Bali Tour December 14, 2013 at 7:08 AM #

    Thanks for the recipe
    it’s look great

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Black Pepper Seafood Pasta « Cady McBronzie's Culinary Adventure - April 24, 2011

    […] to The Hassan’s staples for the last minute What-Shall-I-Cook-For-Lunch. Apart from the usual Seafood Aglio Olio, I can foresee this being one of our comfort foods. I love trying new recipes and also tweaking […]

Leave a Reply

